The old cuss has landed

View previous topic View next topic Go down

The old cuss has landed

Post by FadedInk on Sat May 28, 2016 1:18 am

I registered and posted an intro over on scratcherstattooforum, but reset818 kindly informed me that the forum has moved to here. I'd just read a few posts, and it looked like good folks, so I joined up. Oh well.

I'll just paste my intro from here, hope that's ok..

Ok, I'm not great at these intro things.

I'm not really a beginner since I learned tattoo about 30 yrs ago. Still have some of my old gear, the coolest bits being an old Spaulding and Rogers Puma machine and my old ultrasonic cleaner.

But I haven't laid any ink in over 20 yrs, so I've been going through the same beginner steps I did years ago when I got Token Tom's "Tattoos A-Z" and bugged Tom and sometimes Huck Spaulding with a crapload of the usual beginner questions over the phone.

All my old work on myself is of course faded, since I didn't ever touch it up. I'm not interested in going to a shop to have it redone because then it wouldn't be my artwork anymore. It would be some other artist's interpretation and enhancement of it. So gear back up, get the hands back in shape and touch up the old work and add some of the work I wanted to do but never got around to back then. After that, who knows?

Am I a scratcher though? Well, not by the standards of back when I learned. What Tom called a scratcher was somebody who hadn't learned to get good lines, couldn't shade, couldn't colour. Not a problem here. LOL When I ran a dinky shop back then out of a spare room of my house that could be locked and set aside strictly for tattoo work, it was inspected by the local board of health and etc. It was as "official" as it needed to be back then.

But by today's use of the term, yeah, I figure the "Oh, you must apprentice with one of us or you are less than dirt" kids, they would probably call me a scratcher now. Not that I'm interested in their opinion on that.